Get ready

Tickets on sale now

learn more


First held in 1977 in Malmo, Sweden, the World Championships originally took place every three years. From 1983 to 2005 the World Championships became a bi-annual event before switching to annual with the exception of Olympic years. The winner of the Olympic title is then considered the world champion in all but name.

Hosting the World Championships is a coveted accolade with the Badminton Association of Indonesia holding the 2015 World Championships in Jakarta. Previous host cities feature many of the world’s sporting capitals including London, Beijing, Paris, Madrid, Copenhagen and Kuala Lumpur.

With 2016 an Olympic year the next TOTAL BWF World Championships will be Glasgow 2017!

Lin Dan 2 (1)

A rich sporting history

BADMINTONscotland and Glasgow have a proud tradition of hosting world class badminton events. Glasgow staged the Sudirman Cup World Team Championships in 1997 and 2007, in addition to multiple European Championships and the annual Scottish Open Grand Prix.

Glasgow also hosted the individual World Championships in 1997 when Denmark’s Peter Rasmussen, Europe’s last men’s singles World Champion, won the title in the longest final in history. He took 124 minutes to defeat China’s Sun Jun, who was crippled by cramp in the closing stages of the titanic clash.

With the return of the TOTAL BWF World Championships in 2017, Glasgow joins Copenhagen, Jakarta and Birmingham as the only cities in history to have hosted the individual World Championships on more than one occasion.

Reigning World Champions


Men’s Singles Chen Long China
Women’s Singles Carolina Marin Spain
Men’s Doubles Mohammad Ahsan & Hendra Satiawan Indonesia
Women’s Doubles Tian Qing & Zhao Yunlei China
Mixed Doubles Zhang Nan & Zhao Yunlei China


With reigning champions in three events, China will undoubtedly provide a strong team but there will be plenty of others aiming to challenge the Asian dominance including Spanish double World Champion Carolina Marin, England’s Chris and Gabby Adcock and Scotland’s own Kirsty Gilmour.

The last time a player from the British home nations secured a medal was in 2011 when Scotland’s Imogen Bankier partnered England’s Chris Adcock to the silver medal in the mixed doubles in London.


Internationally renowned for the friendliness of its welcome, Glasgow has been named a must see city. 


Tickets on sale now, get yours today and secure your seat for one of the biggest global sporting events in 2017!


All the action from Finals Day!

History was made on finals day at the TOTAL BWF World Championships as Viktor Axelsen became the first European player to win men’s singles gold in 20 years.


Register now for all the latest news and offers

To subscribe to our list you must agree to the terms and conditions.